Now I Know My Avocados

Now I Know My Avocados by Stephanie Wykoff

**E-book provided for free in exchange for an honest review**

avo-a

Maybe the lovely Ms Avocado has been paying attention to my love for text-less books (as in Where’s Walrus and Rosie’s Walk) and got in touch via Instagram to ask if I’d review this one. Of course I said yes – let’s face it, what newbie blogger isn’t excited by the offer of a freebie?!

And I do love this type of book. The concept isn’t new – a page per letter in the alphabet with pictures of objects starting with that letter on each page. They are a great way to introduce the alphabet and provoke discussions with early speakers (hopefully not full blown arguments about what object actually pictured – perhaps it’s just my eldest who always knows better than mummy!)

It’s the distinctive illustration style which is the main USP of Now I Know My Avocados. The super-cool colour palette, which I will describe as turquoise and bronze as it’s way cooler than mundane blue and brown. The realistic but stylised pictures and fun perspectives also add to the very ‘now’ look.

The objects chosen also show some creativity. ‘Avocado’ nor ‘asparagus’ feature in every day pre-school fodder. The ever tricky Q page has been dealt with well – see the quilt and quartz below.

avo-q

There’s just the one element that is lost in translation between our English-speaking nations. I was puzzled why a rubgy goal was on the ‘F’ page (try? drop goal? conversion? rugby?) … the useful key at the back describes it as a ‘field goal’. I can only assume this is something to do with American football? But what’s a word between Transatlantic friends?!

avo-f